Forum

AquaRank.com

3ft for Pundamilia Nyererei

Here you can talk about all Victorian Cichlids.

3ft for Pundamilia Nyererei

Postby Skunk » Wed Sep 08, 2010 12:31 am

I've just acquired a 4ftx18"x15" tank, around 220L. I did some work experience at Hull Uni and fell in love with Pundamilia Nyererei. Therefore, I'd like to use this tank as an African Rift Lake Cichlid Tank.

I'm very new to cichlids, I know that they're mouthbrooders, about stripping, liking high ph and temp, and levels of aggression, but that's about it.

I'm looking to partition the tank, 1ft to be used for bringing up apple snails as I have a few batches from my other tanks, but it's certainly possible that I can get another tank to do this in.

Would 3ft be ok as a cichlid tank?

What types of rock should I use to build up the back of the tank, type of sand (my ph is around 8.5 as it is), tank mates, ease of breeding, and any additional advice.

I've been reading care sheets, and other threads, but it's good to cover all bases :P

Thanks a lot :)
Skunk
EGG
EGG

Re: 3ft for Pundamilia Nyererei

Postby daveyboy » Wed Sep 08, 2010 7:23 am

hi lexxi
3ft isent really big enough for rift lake cichlids its great as a growing on tank idealy you need at least 4ft for sutch as mbuna and 5ft for the smaller haps and aulonocara and 6ft and above for the large preditors :handgestures-thumbup:
daveyboy
TOP POSTER
TOP POSTER

Postby Jimbo » Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:24 am

As Davey says 4 foot and above.
The reason for this is aggression.
Even in a species only tanks the females and sub dom males need room to get out of what the dominant male regards as his territory.
Jimbo

Postby Skunk » Wed Sep 08, 2010 10:23 am

:) Right ok, 4ft would be do able :) Need to get some more cheap tanks from my lfs, ha!
Skunk
EGG
EGG

Postby vicky » Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:38 pm

try your local friday ad or flea bay :handgestures-thumbup: bargins are around, just picked up 3 tanks for £1.20
vicky
SEMI-ADULT
SEMI-ADULT