Forum

AquaRank.com

Tutorial - Tank shots with average point and shoot camera.

Any hints and tips for others -please post here. Anything you want to ask - post it here.

Tutorial - Tank shots with average point and shoot camera.

Postby Clare » Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:21 am

Hello. I am a very enthusiastic fish photographer. I have been taking photos of my fish and tanks for nearly 5 years. I moved on from a point and shoot camera (commonly referred to as a compact camera) 3 years ago and I moved onto a DSLR (known as the cameras that you can change the lenses)

I have compiled a detailed walkthrough of how to get a good tank photo. Everyone can do this, even those who only have a camera on their phone. I believe we should all have the ability to show off our prize tanks.

This tutorial is being done with an Olympus SP-700 6 MP camera. Its a low end 5 year old camera which I thought would show people how to get the most out of whatever camera they have to use.
Settings are Automatic with FLASH OFF!!!!!!

After editing, I am using Windows Photo Gallery on the "fix" option. If you don't have this option, then any other photo software with a "cropping" tool will do.
If you do not resize your photos yourself, then make sure the option on Photobucket resizes then for you. This forum only accepts photos 800x600 pixels or smaller.

The camera that is being used.

The room in which the tank is situated.

Try and find yourself something to lean the camera on for stability. I use my computer chair. Move the camera to where you can get the full tank width in frame In the middle of the window so cropping is easy. Like this.

The tank should look like this in the screen. If you are using a camera where you need to use the view finder then it should also look like this when you look through it.